Trailer Boating

Subject
Topic: Towing with 2003 Dodge 2500
ajr013
Forum Member
Forum Member
Posted: 06 March 2006 at 10:49pm | IP Logged
Hi All,

Just wondering if anyone out there has had any experience towing with a 2003 Dodge 2500 w/6 speed, Cummins, 3.73 4x4.  I'm thinking about purchasing a trailer for my boat, which is a 30' Wellcraft with at 10'6"beam that weighs around 11k lbs.  I'm pretty sure the class IV hitch on the Dodge is rated to 12k lbs with a WD hitch and the vehicle is rated to 13.2k lbs.  Does anyone out there have any experiences with a similiar configuration that they would like to share?  My guess would be that boat on trailer would be 13k minimum.  I don't plan on doing a lot of trailering, but I would like to make 1 or 2 road trips a year, probably 70 miles each way.   Any thoughts?
Mstdvr
Forum Member
Forum Member
Posted: 06 March 2006 at 11:31pm | IP Logged

I'm not an expert but I have a Ram 1500. A 26' Boat around8500. The same ClassIV hitch. I have no problem towing, most of the highway I use is flat but there are a couple of good hills and have yet had to down shift.

"By Chance" 73 Marauder

boatingncst8fan
Forum Member
Forum Member
Posted: 07 March 2006 at 6:41am | IP Logged
You should be fine, but you'll likely need a wide load permit which should be available through your state.  Just make sure you have good brakes on the trailer.  I tow our boat (13,500 lbs) with a '04 F-250 powerstroke & auto tranny with no problems.  --Garrett
'07 Tidewater 2100 BayMax with a Suzuki 140
RCook
Forum Member
Forum Member
Posted: 07 March 2006 at 8:40am | IP Logged
I tow a 12,000 lb boat trailer with a 98 Ram 2500 with ISB Cummins, 5-speed, camper package, and Rancho adjustable shocks.  Works quite well, all over the mountains out here in the West.  Upwards of 33,000 miles towing the boat by now.